Templates and Roles

Introduction

Template is the blueprint of the room. It defines the settings of the room along with the behavior of users who are part of it. Room will inherit the properties from a template that you have specified while creating it. If you have not specified any template then it will pick the default template. Each template will be identified by its id or name. E.g. default_videoconf_7e450ffc-8ef1-4572-ab28-b32474107b89

Users can see or modify the templates by visiting Templates on Dashboard or via API(see below). After updating a template or some part of its like permissions, you need to rejoin or restart the session for the template updates to take place.

Template

Roles

Role is a collection of permissions that allows you to perform certain set of operations while being part of the room. It has the following attributes:

Name

Every role has a name that should be unique inside a template. This name will be used while generating app tokens and referencing inside a template.

Publish Strategies

Publish strategies will be used to determine the tracks and their quality which can be published by this role.

StrategyDescription
Can share audioWhether the role is allowed to publish the audio track or not.
Can share videoWhether the role is allowed to publish the video track or not
Can share screenWhether the role is allowed to do screen share or not
Video qualityQuality of the video track which is going to be published by the role. Currently, 6 video qualities 1080p,720p, 480p, 360p, 240p and 120p are predefined and the user can select one out of these values. This option will be visible only if the Can share video is enabled.
Screenshare qualityQuality of the screen which is going to be shared by the role. Currently, 2 video qualities 720p and 1080p are predefined and the user can select one out of these values. This option will be visible only if the Can share screen is enabled.

Subscribe Strategies

Subscribe strategies will be used to determine what all roles, this role can subscribe to.

StrategyDescription
Subscribe toYou can select all the roles of the template which this role will subscribe
Subscribe DegradationWhen this flag is turned on, one or more remote video tracks will be muted automatically when the network condition worsens. Such tracks will be marked as degraded. When the network condition improves, the degraded tracks will automatically be unmuted.

Permissions

Permissions will contain a list of additional privileges that this role will have.

PermissionDescription
Can change any participant's roleWith this permission, user will be able to change the role of the other participant's who are present in the room
Can mute any participantWith this permission, user will be able to mute any participant's audio and/or video.
Can ask participant to unmuteWith this permission, user will be able to ask any participant to unmute their audio and/or video.
Can remove participant from the roomWith this permission, user will be able to remove any participant from the current session of the room.
Can end current session of the roomWith this permission, user will be able to end the current session of the room.

API reference

Apart from the dashboard, a programmatic way to interact with templates is via API.